National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee, also known as the NSC, has a mission "To serve, support, and strengthen the Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs through representation and collaboration." 

NSC members are made up of representatives from each of the 10 EPA regions. Each subcommittee is also asked to provide a representative for the monthly calls.  

The monthly calls are held the first Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. The group communicates through the NSC listserv and a call agenda with call-in information is provided each month before the scheduled call. Attendance is limited to the NSC members and subcommittee chairs. 

Leadership is provided by the NSC Chair, Jennifer Collins of IN.

2021-2021 NSC Photo Directory

Headshot of Jennifer Collins

Jennifer Collins
NSC Chair

Indiana Department of Enviromental Management
(317) 234-9730
Jcollins1@idem.in.gov

Headshot of Donovan Grimwood

Donovan Grimwood
NSC Vice-Chair

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
(615) 532-4966

  • List of Regional Representatives

       

      Regional Representative

      Regional Alternate

      Region 1

      (CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)

      Sara J. Johnson, MS

      NH Department of Environmental Services

      (603) 271-1379

      Sara.Johnson@des.nh.gov

      Vacant

       

       

      Region 2

      (NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)

      Edward Bakos

      New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

      Small Business Assistance Program

      (609) 292-0958

      Edward.Bakos@dep.state.nj.us

      Harry Ching, P.E.

      Manager, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

      NYS Environmental Facilities Corporation

      (518) 402-7396

      Harry.Ching@efc.ny.gov

      Region 3

      (DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)

      Jeremy Hancher, CEA, REP

      Environmental Management Assistance Program (EMAP)

      Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

      Phone: (610) 499-4322

      jwhancher@widener.edu

       

      Nancy Herb

      Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection

      (717) 783-9269

      nherb@pa.gov

      Region 4

      (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)

       

      Donovan Grimwood

      Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

      (615) 532-4966

      Donovan.Grimwood@tn.gov

       

       

      Derek Bozzell

      Kentucky Divison of Compliance Assistance

       

      (502) 782-6324

      envhelp@ky.gov

      Region 5

      (IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)

      Jennifer Dixon

      Air Quality Liaison

      Michigan Department of Environment,

      Great Lakes, and Energy

      (517) 284-6892
      DIXONJ2@michigan.gov

      Emily Ohde

      Environmental Specialist

      Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

      (651) 757-2559
      Emily.Ohde@STATE.MN.US

      Region 6

      (AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)

      Lloyd A. Kirk

      Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

      (405) 702-7105

      Lloyd.Kirk@deq.ok.gov

      Julie Nicol

      Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment

      (501) 682-0849

      NICOL@adeq.state.ar.us

      Region 7

      (IA, KS, MO, and NE)

      Nancy Larson

      Pollution Prevention Institute

      Kansas State University

      (316) 660-0104

      nlarson@ksu.edu

      Jennifer Wittenburg

      Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program

      Iowa Waste Reduction Center

      University of Northern Iowa

      (319) 273-6580

      jennifer.wittenburg@uni.edu

      Region 8

      (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)

      John Podolinsky

      Montana Small Business Ombudsman

      Small Business Environmental

      Assistance Program

      800-433-8773

      JPodolinsky@mt.gov

      Eleanor Divver

      Small Business Environmental Assistance Program

      Utah Department of Environmental Quality

      (801) 536-0091

      edivver@utah.gov

      Region 9

      (AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)

      Eric Florio

      University of Nevada, Reno

      (775) 834-3674

      eflorio@unr.edu

      Chris Lynch

      University of Nevada, Reno

      (775) 834-3687

      clynch@unr.edu

      Region 10

      (AK, ID, OR, WA and 271 native tribes)

      Belinda Breidenbach

      Idaho Small Business Development Center

      (208) 426-1873

      belindabreidenba@boisestate.edu

      Patrick Hoermann

      King County – Washington

      (206) 263-1658

      Patrick.Hoermann@kingcounty.gov

  SBEAP-SBO Guidelines - 2010 NSC guidelines for positions and voting. (update pending)

The NSC Technical Subcommittee periodically reviews and provides comments on proposed EPA regulations. The NSC approves and submits the comment letters to EPA. Recent comment letters are listed below.

Additional comment letters can be found on the NSC Technical Subcommittee page.